The things you find

15 Oct

It’s always these crazy little towns that surprise us.

You know how you say “you need to get lost in order to find yourself?” Well, I can attest that I found myself maybe 15 times today. I found myself on so many side streets and backroads, I found myself  in people’s driveways and silos. I now know every cornfield and farmhouse this side of Kick A Boo.

We left our Madison hotel and headed out to the backroads. Along a road between some farms and some cornfields, we  found some breathtaking shots.

On towards lunch, we came across a lovely town called Prairie du Sac. R + R like it because it’s French, I liked it because of their chili. Which. Is. The. Best.

Rob is trying desperately to get us all to listen to Pink Floyd. Pink Floyd versus Dolly Parton. Who is going to win? I think it will be Dolly. Dolly always wins. But the war for the heart of the radio continues on. No one is giving in…yet.

2 Responses to “The things you find”

  1. Billie & Bob Johnson October 15, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    & listen to Jimmy Buffett’s Son of a Son of a Sailor…great on land or water while we have this big beautiful moon !!! Hi Guys…hope you are still having a fantasic trip to “Amsterdam”…don’t forget little Amsterdam Texas !

    • AMSTERDAM STORIES USA October 19, 2011 at 1:57 am #

      Billie!

      We would never forget you two! You were so amazing and so welcoming. It was simply the best time. Those 4 days went by far too fast.

      I’m getting Rob more into the country thing. I THINK he is becoming a convert. Zac Brown Band, Blake Shelton, maybe a little Conway Twitty and “Kansas City Lights.” But of course, “Big Green Tractor” always plays! Love that song.

      Wishing you and Bob well. Thinking of you always.

Leave a Reply

